Ryatt Haggerman finished 19th with a time of 12:20 and was the only medalist for the Versailles Tigers Thursday, Oct. 3 in the Moberly Invitational cross country meet in Moberly.
(submitted photo)
Versailles cross country runners traveled Thursday, Oct. 3 to Moberly to compete in  the Moberly Invitational. Middle school boys were the first to race for Versailles. There were 131 boys lined up to race the 2-mile course with medals going to the top 25 runners. Ryatt Haggerman finished 19th with a time of 12:20.  He was the only medalist for the Tigers.              Matthew Radefeld was two places from medaling. He finished 27th with a time of 12:32.  Ryley Pryor finished 32nd with a  time of 12:48. Logan Scott competed in his first race and finished 72nd with a time of 14:23 Gage Kincaid finished 114th with a time of 16:29. As a team, Versailles placed eighth out of 12 teams. 
There were 93 varsity boys runners entered in the competition, with medals going to the top 10.  Seth Newton ran the 5-kilometer course in 19:57 to place 21st. Next to finish was William Taylor, in 34th place, with a time of 20:47. Dagan Haggerman clocked a time of 20:52 for a 37th-place finish.  Close on his heels was Noah Dykzeul with a time of 20:53 to place 40th. Jacob Schrock placed 63rd with a time of 22:13. Trent Hyman placed 71st with a time of 2:59. As a team, the Tigers placed seventh out of 13 teams.

Columbia meet
The Tigers traveled Saturday, Sept. 28 to Columbia for the first Gans Creek Classic, which served as a preview of the state cross country meet. Both boys and girls competed in the white division (made up of smaller schools). Gans Creek is the dedicated cross country course for Mizzou and will now host the state cross country meet. The course has a 2K loop and and 3K loop. Runners ran both to equal 5 kilometers.
“We scheduled this meet so we could experience the state course prior to the state meet,” said coach Laura Piercy.
Carmen Lemell placed 74th out of 153 runners. Her time was 25:04.1, her fastest time this year. Seth Newton placed 77th out of 216 runners, with a time of 20:12.3. Noah Dykzeul placed 86th with a personal-best time for the year of 20:20.3. William Taylor placed 103rd with a time of 20:39.9. His time has improved every race this season. Dagan Haggerman placed 126th with a time of 21:11.9. Jacob Schrock placed 141st with a time of 21:37.2. Trent Hyman placed 165th with a time of 22:36.8.